FFfAW: The Last Goodbye

Credit: The Storyteller’s Abode

Dearest Abigail,

Just as I feared, all that I predicted in my last letter has come true. I have been found guilty of treason in a secret trial and await sentencing. I know not what news about my circumstances have reached the outside world, but my heart aches at the shame I fear you have had to face because of me.

I managed to bribe a guard and can only hope this letter has reached you safely. If you’re reading this my love, once again I beg for your forgiveness, but as a man of honor I had no choice but to stand up for the truth. I wear my country’s uniform with pride but could not blindly follow orders that contradicted my moral values.

Abigail dear, I doubt we will ever meet again and so I say my last, painful goodbye.

I selfishly ask you not to ever forget me but to also find another who will keep you forever happy.

Yours eternally,

Elliot James McLeod.

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers


I didn’t want to submit to the army and then, on the day of judgment, have God say to me, ‘Why did you do that?’ This life is a trial, and you realize that what you do is going to be written down for Judgment Day – Muhammad Ali (boxer)

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to FFfAW: The Last Goodbye

  1. Jade M. Wong says:

    Oh gosh…nooo is there no chance for a happy ending between Abigail and Elliot?

  2. How sad! Elliot is being imprisoned because he stood up for his moral values. This is sad for him and for his beloved. Great story S!

  3. Michael says:

    Great response SW..enjoyed this very much….

  4. Iain Kelly says:

    Now that’s a powerful letter. Great work.

  5. michael1148humphris says:

    Such a terrible letter to have to write. Down the centuries sadly many individuals must have faced such a tortuous end.

  6. any1mark66 says:

    Many good thoughts mixed in here. Standing up for things will always mean others will want to sit you down permanently.

  7. magarisa says:

    Wonderfully written!

  8. magarisa says:

    I just read the letter that preceded this one…wow! Such emotional and moral depth.

  9. mandibelle16 says:

    That makes it so difficult. She probably loves him all the more forcstanding up for his morals, but he could and will probably die for it. That’s the most difficult part. Wonderful Write!

  10. milliethom says:

    Elliot sounds like a brave and upstanding man, one worthy of Abigail’s love. The letter is such a sad one, and it seems they have no future together. A ‘painful goodbye’ indeed. Well written.

Leave a comment