FFfAW: Always

Credit: Sunayana MoiPensieve

She leaned gently against the lamppost as he serenaded the crowd with his usual tunes.

I’ll be there till the stars don’t shine
Till the heavens burst and the words don’t rhyme…

She closed her eyes as memories came flooding back. They’d stood here, hand in hand, where he’d mouthed these lyrics.

And I know when I die,
You’ll be on my mind
And I’ll love you always…

Tears trickled down her cheeks. This was the exact moment she’d whispered, you’d better,Β and he’d grinned, nodding in acquiescence.

Now she actually hated herself for ever asking him to acknowledgeΒ those words, words she still couldn’t fathom had come true. She shook her head firmly. No, she mustn’t do this to herself. This was where he’d gone down on one knee and asked her to spend eternity with him. She had to preserve that beautiful moment, no matter how fleeting.

She sighed and started to slowly walk back home. She’d be back again tomorrow. She glanced heavenward and whispered, I’ll love you baby… always.

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

Because I’m a sucker for the oldies! πŸ˜€


About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to FFfAW: Always

  1. Jade M. Wong says:

    Aww what a bittersweet story…it is better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all, that’s what they say, right?

  2. James says:

    A terribly sad tale.

  3. magarisa says:

    This is so poignant that it makes me tremble.

  4. Very emotive. Nicely done

  5. A very heart touching story!! Especially the ending! I wasn’t expecting that.

  6. Singledust says:

    very beautiful and i love the oldies too

  7. Shivangi says:

    Sad story… loved how you put it all together!

  8. Michael says:

    Nothing wrong with the oldies SW, well done I say..

  9. maria says:

    Awweeee!! I love this!! ❀ Indeed a bittersweet take, S.

  10. Really liked this one. You did a great job.

  11. What a sweet and sad tale. I like this πŸ™‚

    I am leaving a link of my YouTube video in the comments. Thank you for checking it out.

  12. S Francis says:

    Very nice use of image and imagination. Love it.

Leave a Reply

