FFfAW: The Curse

Credit: Jade M. Wong

The disconsolate Queen abhorred any signs of joy and summoned the evil witch for a curse to eliminate all happiness from the world. But the curse wasn’t invincible. Those who persevered would easily overcome.

Generations went by and the crystal box sucked hope from all those who caved.

Attracted by the luminous pink tinge, Gloria bought it at a garage sale.

“Hey hon, where’s my shirt?”

“Can’t you see I’m busy,” snapped Gloria and Henry stared at his usually patient wife.

“Sorry dear, I didn’t mean to ….”

“Stop bothering me! Seriously, I’m really getting sick of you!”

“Gloria!” Henry looked shocked.

Gloria glanced up.

“Um, I d-didn’t mean…”

She stopped, confused.

Henry went up to her.

“Hey, it’s alright, I’m yours forever, remember?”

With his protective arms around her, Gloria felt a sudden wave of relief and with a determined spirit, silently chided herself.

A week later, she noticed that the crystal box had disappeared.

She wouldn’t find it; she had endured. The curse was once again in search of victims who’d easily give up.

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to FFfAW: The Curse

  1. Iain Kelly says:

    A modern fairytale. Well done. I’m glad Gloria survived it, but fear for its next victim!

  2. Great story! I’m glad that the crystal box disappeared! Lovely, imaginative and creative story!

  3. mandibelle16 says:

    Great story, unfortunate it’s a travelling curse and can’t be destroyed before it searches for those with weaker will.

  4. rosemawrites says:

    oh geez. i am glad she is saved. but i’m scared for the next one. great, creative take! 🙂

  5. Singledust says:

    amazing tale , was reminded of a tradition here about bringing back cursed objects, you gave me goosebumps!

  6. luckyjc007 says:

    It is indeed a crystal box seeking out the weak! I wonder how many can overcome it? Clever story.

  7. Sonny Price says:

    Cool story! I love curses. Well, reading and writing about them anyway. 🙂

    PS. My contribution also featured a cursed gem ^_^
    PPS. cruse=curse?

  8. jademwong says:

    Yes! I’m so proud of Gloria for overcoming the crystal! I wonder where it is now in the world… 😉

    Great writing, Saima! Enjoyed this story immensely!

  9. milliethom says:

    Well done to Gloria for resisting the pull of the crystal box! That disconsolate queen has a lot to answer for as I can see that box finding a lot more victims yet. A very enjoyable read. 🙂

  10. yarnspinnerr says:

    Wow. Lovely take on this one.

  11. magarisa says:

    I really like the idea of the curse being able to conquer only those we have given up hope, ie. those who do not realise they’re stronger than the curse. Brilliant tale and creative take on the prompt!
    By the way, there’s a typo in the last sentence: “cruse” instead of “curse”. Hope you don’t mind my pointing it out. 🙂

  12. afairymind says:

    I hope the next person to find the crystal box manages to withstand its effects as well as Gloria did. The queen must have been a very unhappy lady to ask for such a curse to be created. Great story!

  13. What a lovely perspective. I am glad she didn’t get caught in the curse.

Leave a comment