FFfAW: Not Such a Chance Encounter

Credit: Louise, The Storyteller’s Abode

It was exceptionally hot but he deliberately took the longer route yet again. Spartacus looked up questioningly and tugged hard.

Jake shook his head.

“Nope, we’re going this way!”

Jake was sure Spartacus gave him a ‘sometimes these humans are so foolish’ look and glared at him.

“There’s no need to be so high and mighty!” he snapped.

Spartacus wagged his tail.

Jake bent down and ruffled his fur.

“Sorry Sparty, I’m just nervous. I’ve seen her jog this way and I really hope I can get myself to say hi this time!”

Spartacus licked his face.

She came jogging down the pathway just as Jake was standing back up and he elbowed her.

“Ouch!”

“Sorry!” said Jake instinctively, then froze.

Jemima’sΒ face too, showed sudden recognition.

“J-Jake…”

“Jemima…hi..you, um, you remember me!”

“Yes, university wasn’t that long ago!” she smiled shyly.

A few minutes of awkward conversation later, both were walking towards the nearest cafe.

What a lucky break! Jake thought, happily.

Gosh,Β what luck! Now I can cut down on my jogging time! Jemima thought, relieved!

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers
and The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt:Β Waiting

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, Flash Fiction Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to FFfAW: Not Such a Chance Encounter

  1. jademwong says:

    Haha! What an adorable meeting. I love that they were both trying to meet the other. This story just gives me fluttery butterflies ^_^

  2. Iain Kelly says:

    Nice story, a nice happy ever after ending. Well written.

  3. Haha! How cute! They were both wanting to meet up with each other. Great story!

  4. Joyfrida says:

    I should start jogging around a certain path πŸ˜€ loved the story.

  5. rosemawrites says:

    so my i am widely smiling as i finished reading this!! GREAT job, Saima! ❀

  6. Ameena k.g says:

    Oh my! I love that last line, to think they we both going out of their way to be noticed by the other. But I am glad it worked out for them

  7. mandibelle16 says:

    Nice, things worked out for both of them πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

