FFfAW: True Love

Credit: TJ Paris

“I want to see you walk down that aisle,” said Jack.

Chloe smiled, then her eyes welled up. After Barry’s cruel betrayal, another commitment was not easy.

“If my answer’s yes, I’ll meet you on Monday at our favourite coffee place… but if I don’t show…”

She couldn’t complete the sentence.

Monday came and Jack reached twenty minutes early.

It was closing time when the waitress gently asked him to leave.

A day later, he got a text: I’m sorry.

In her hospital room, Chloe sobbed bitterly.

The accident occurred on her way to meet Jack. When she woke up, she couldn’t feel her legs. She wouldn’t be walking down that aisle, she wouldn’t be walking again, ever.

Jack would still marry me…no, he’d leave me…hounded by agonizing days of self-doubt, finally, with trembling fingers she dialed his number, when suddenly, in walked Jack!

He’d tracked her down.

“J-Jack…I was coming to meet…”

But Jack was already next to her and she saw the ring sparkle.

“Chloe, will you marry me?”

For Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to FFfAW: True Love

  1. Singledust says:

    This is sweet, he is still by her side, she will have strength to heal and her heart won’t be sad anymore. the test of true love, tragedy can bring out the best or worst in a person….lovely story S!

  2. iainthekid says:

    Great ending, so glad he tracked her down!

  3. Awww what a sweet story! So glad he didn’t give up on her! Lovely story!

  4. Jenn says:

    Awww, that reminds me of the movie An Affair to Remember. Nice story.

  5. jademwong says:

    Aww my heart, my heart! What a beautiful ending.

  6. luckyjc007 says:

    What a really awesome guy he is! That is true love and it will probably last forever. Wonderful story!

  7. Very nice. But, what took him so long? 😛

  8. Joy Pixley says:

    Aw, this one brought a tear to my eye — nicely done!

  9. Sonny Price says:

    Aww, so sweet! He’s a keeper 🙂

  10. mandibelle16 says:

    Cute story S. I like how he still wanted to marry her, even though she might never walk again. But I hope she walks eventually. Sometimes, medical people don’t know what’s possible with spinal injuries, you have to wait and see how things go.

  11. What a beautiful, sweet read. Jack’s a lad to keep 😊

Leave a Reply

