Word-High July: Gigil

july 29

I tried to evade

Behind Mummy I stayed

A pinch of the cheeks

Another hug and a squeeze

I wondered why aunties and adults

Had this uncontrollable impulse

For Word-High July

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Word-High July: Gigil

  1. Singledust says:

    in my local dialect in malaysia “gigil “means to shiver! either from cold or fear. lots of similarities and borrowed words between the languages in south east asia makes for words that seems almost alike. i like your take on the prompt. really brings the word to life.

    • swritings says:

      I’ve noticed that too with words! This has been a fun and informative challenged, I got to know so many different Filipino words! 🙂 Thank you! Glad you liked it! 🙂

  2. jademwong says:

    This was super sweet ^_^

  3. mandibelle16 says:

    Yes I went along the same route. I get the hugs or a kiss, but the pinching cheeks, its weird.

  4. maria says:

    hahaha! I share your sentiments! 😀

  5. rosemawrites says:

    HAHAHA! That is so true! That is their way of making poor toddlers cry! 😀

Leave a Reply

