Daily Prompt: Disappointment (An Open Letter)

Signs, Board, Disappointment, Words, Letters

Dear Disappointment,

You have this knack of showing up unannounced, unwanted and unawares. Just when I think you’ve reared your miserable head for the last time, bam! There you are again!

Seriously, go stalk some greedy politicians or better yet, the condescending bullies at the workplace who magically make everything work out for them.

But I suppose I should keep an eye out for you from time to time (my bad!). Like that time when I baked those cookies and for an instant exclaimed in delight at their chocolately appearance, my brow instantly furrowing as I rechecked the recipe, devoid of any such ingredient (the burning smell should have been a major tip off, but it was my first try after all and it wafted away in my excitement).

Oh, the time when I was sure I had that job interview down, enthusiastically tearing open the letter only to be let down, again.

Should I even bother revisiting the copious amount of times my work in progress stories have stagnated? Guess I have you to thank for that as well, huh?

Before you get all too full of yourself, I just want to let you know that it ends here; you won’t see me wallow in my usual self-pity any longer!

I know it would be fatuous to think that you’d cease to exist altogether but from now on, you will not be receiving my undivided attention. When you do surface, I’ll look you squarely in the eye and deal with you accordingly. You will not run/ruin my life any longer.

Moving On,

Victim No More.

Written for The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt


Open Letters are a fun write! 🙂 Read my very first letter to The Grass That is Always Greener on the Other Side

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daily Prompt: Disappointment (An Open Letter)

  1. There is a need for more more bloggers like you…
    Please Post More!

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 23 – “The Shadow Of Our Dreams” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Ah, this is great!! 🙂

  4. I like these daily prompts. Lovely to read the different writings. Throughly enjoyed this one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

