FFfAW: Lost Memories

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

“Here it is, the spot where you proposed,” Elsa smiled up at her husband, as they walked along the cobbled pathway.

“I thought you’d chicken out at the last second,” she continued laughing. “I could see how nervous you were, but down you went on bended knee, ring in hand!”

“Oh, that’s where I used to see you jogging while I sketched, hoping you’d stop by and admire my work…and you did, but after making me wait a good one month!” Elsa poked John playfully in the stomach.

“Oh, I’m sure you remember that first-aid hut by the rocks? Where you carried me all the way when I twisted my ankle? I insisted I’d limp to it, but nope!”

“You always did take such good care of me,” Elsa rested her greying head on John’s shoulder.

“Ye-s,” John looked down at his wife with blank eyes. “I’m sorry, who did you say you were?”

Elsa sighed.

“Never mind, dear,” she patted him gently. “We’ll come back again tomorrow, it’s time for your medication now.”

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to FFfAW: Lost Memories

  1. mandibelle16 says:

    Wonderfully happy beginning. Sad at the end. Alzheimer’s is awful for the people experiencing and their loved ones. Losing your memories of people , I think that is cruel.

  2. Shivangi says:

    Wonderful, touching story

  3. Alixa says:

    Aw, it was going so well… Alzheimer/dementia does hurt people around more than the person affected by it. Still, beautiful story πŸ™‚

  4. Wonderful story with a surprise twist at the end! How sad that they have grown old and he has dementia. Sadly, true to life sometimes. Well done!

  5. Oh nooo, that is so sad.

  6. It’s good to know that she didn’t give up on him, and continued to try to bring him to places that would evoke his memories. Lovely. πŸ™‚

  7. maria says:

    Awwee.. this is lovely but sad. One of life’s most painful way of torture is for someone to lose his memories while the other tries to keep what is left. But I do feel her acceptance and, of course, her unending love. Lovely story, S…

  8. Unimaginable. A sad but too familiar situation.

    ‘The Homecoming’ for FFfAW!

  9. rosemawrites says:

    Ohhh… 😦
    The first few parts are toe-curlers… but the twist is just sad. Yet this is truly a beautifully-written piece which reminds me of The Notebook. πŸ™‚

  10. samratkel says:

    This tragically depicts how Alzheimer’s can take those we love even when they are standing straight in front of them. Brilliant plot!!

  11. Oh dear! A painful situation to watch. Dementia. Alzheimer’s. Very tasking for all those involved.

Leave a Reply

