When the Future was Floppy

Who remembers the 5 1/4 floppy disks? One of the initial storage mediums that were introduced. I had boxes full of them, mostly stored with games. The days we used to work in c prompt! Then along came the 3 1/2 disks and we marveled at the shrunken size and increased capacity (if I remember correctly).

My days in university, when my Power Point Presentation had to be stored in at least 6 such disks!

Now we have a plethora of storage devices, USBs as common as a cup of tea. And they come in all sorts of cute designs. This is mine, a gift from my seven year old nephew. šŸ™‚

USB

We come from a generation that can actually say, “Cell phones didn’t exist.”Ā I wonder what the coming generations will replace the words “cell phones” with, when we are long gone? Will there come a time when they speak of the current high tech gadgets in the past tense?


Day 15 NabloPoMo/NanoPoblano/YeahNoMo

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo/NanoPoblano & YeahNoMo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When the Future was Floppy

  1. Madeeha says:

    Reading it makes me feel nostalgic šŸ™‚

  2. I wonder too! Lovely post. It put a smile on my face.

  3. innatejames says:

    Technology is changing so fast I bet we’ll be talking about current gadgets in past tense. VCRs, iPods, CDs, answering machines all wiped out in our lives (I’m assuming we’re about the same age)

Leave a Reply

