Cards, the Old Fashioned Way!

cardsgot

Do you still receive Birthday, Anniversary, Thank You, Congratulation et al cards via mail? Or has this method of showing affection all but died out? Has technology taken over completely and wholly in regards to this medium of communication?

I fondly remember getting an envelope in the mail, cousins living in far off countries making sure your birthday card reaches just before or if they got lucky, exactly on your birthday date. I’d carefully tear off some stamps that I’d find interesting and add them to my collection.

cardsold

Such cards are still visible in shops today, which is good to see. I wonder if a time will come, when they completely disappear from sight? I hope not!

Of course, life is a million times easier and quicker thanks to social media, when you can
text the person exactly at midnight or surprise them with a Skype call from a million miles away.

cardopcl1

So another aspect of society taken over comprehensively by the progress of technology, not that there’s anything wrong with that, it just makes us, who’ve been through these now forgotten times, reminisce yet again about the good old days.
cardopcl2


Day 14- NaBloPoMo/NanoPoblano/YeahNoMo

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in NaBloPoMo/NanoPoblano & YeahNoMo, Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cards, the Old Fashioned Way!

  1. Roo's Muse says:

    I still love receiving greeting cards. But now that you mention it, hmmm… Maybe technology is why my adult kids don’t care much about the full-feature stories I wrote about them (and printed) for their birthdays that one year. Good post!

    • swritings says:

      I love receiving greeting cards too! 🙂 Your kids are so lucky to have a mum who gives them so much attention, I’m sure they appreciate it! 🙂 Thank you for your comment!

  2. SuperStarNat says:

    I love cards!!! Just mailed one out last week! It’s so awesome when you get that text saying, Hey I got your card thank you!

    • swritings says:

      I love cards too! Especially vintage ones or the fun Snoopy ones which I put up in my post! So great to hear that you still mail out cards and get an appreciative response! 🙂

  3. innatejames says:

    I used to make my own cards. I haven’t in years. Maybe I’ll bring that back this year.

  4. Christina says:

    I still love giving and receiving cards … I don’t mail out as many as before, since Facebook and texting are so handy, but my family and I haven’t given up on them completely.

Leave a Reply

