Writing 101, Day 8 – A Letter to The Grass That is Always Greener on the Other Side

Dear Greener Grass,

I’ve got news for you, you’re not that green, in fact, you’re not even greenish. It’s only the lights and reflection playing tricks on my mind. And that’s what you actually are; an illusion.

You pull me towards you with an invisible rope, I feign resistance but dutifully yield, only to discover it was all a facade. And numerous times have you entrapped me in your snare. At times coaxing, others matter-of-factly.

But now, I’m on to you. I’ve had enough. I’m throwing down the gauntlet right at your non-green feet. Pick it up if you dare.

You won’t see me complaining when life doesn’t go as planned. I will not be comparing myself to others, no matter how perfect their lives seem. My high school friend may have a better job than I do and I’m happy for him! Ha! Didn’t see that one coming now did you? I have an entire list, but honestly don’t feel like wasting any more oxygen justifying myself to you.

I don’t want to seem too rude but I think it would be better for all if you leave. Oh, and take your friends, envy and resentment with you, as I need space for my new roommates, positivity and gratitude.

I confess, it won’t be easy. There will be times I’ll falter. The sight of a flurry of Facebook posts with promotions, vacations and pictures of themed birthday parties, with proud mothers holding their children with medals around their necks. Keeping grievances at bay will be an arduous task but this time, I’m determined not to give in.

Never again,

The Look of Satisfaction


Day 11 NaBloPoMo/NanoPoblano/YeahNoMo

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, NaBloPoMo/NanoPoblano & YeahNoMo, Writing 101 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Writing 101, Day 8 – A Letter to The Grass That is Always Greener on the Other Side

  1. Gradmama2011 says:

    This post is well-written and pertinent. The message is clear, too…I like that.

  2. afthead says:

    Yeah, take that grass!

  3. J. Cross says:

    Wish I could take this to heart. Nice!

  4. Laura says:

    Facebook definitely is one place where grass is always greener. Good post!

  5. c2avilez says:

    “you’re not really that green” < Isn't that the truth?! Great post. Sums up some of my feelings lately.

  6. Wandering Soul says:

    wow.. that was certainly certainly .. to come up with the idea of writing to an idiom! Wish i had come up with something like that. Certainly forced me to re-look at what i’d done

  7. ranu802 says:

    You really are good, I enjoyed reading it. 🙂

  8. Declan Groeger says:

    Lovely read. It is a perfect letter

  9. Reminded me of a song we’d sing as kids, “How green you are, how green you are…” I wonder what that meant?! But you say that you aren’t green!

  10. This Girl says:

    That was awesome. I may have to read this again when that greener grass starts lurking.

  11. Pingback: Writing 101, Day 19: Roundup of Great Reads-Helpful Course Links | Dollops of Heedful Ramblings

  12. Madeeha says:

    Soft and natural flow of thoughts.
    That was a lovely read (:

  13. janeashton says:

    What a lovely piece, would look great printed and framed on the wall for those ‘difficult’ moments. Well done 👍

  14. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Disappointment (An Open Letter) | Dollops of Heedful Ramblings

Leave a Reply

