Writing 101, Day 6 – The Space to Write

writingsupplies

I absolutely have a specific writing place! It’s like I’ve made up my mind that I need to write here and only here! In this case at my computer desk in my room.

I did try other ways to write, sitting in bed and using my laptop, thinking this would be nice and comfy, but somehow I kept shifting position and wanted to get back to the desk, sit accordingly and get in that writing frame of mind. Oh, and I find using the mouse much more practical than the touch pad!

I don’t know, maybe subconsciously I’ve decided that this is how I’m most comfortable and can be the most productive.

For 100% focus silence is key, though if there are the usual murmurings around the house, I unconsciously drown them out.

At times I really want to watch my favourite TV show, I may switch on the TV but all I hear is noise and consequently need to turn it off (thank goodness for repeat timings!)

I have these little notebooks in which I’ve scribbled one-liners and quotes, while reading books, watching movies and so on, so I can those handy. But when I do sit down to write, all I need is the online dictionary, fingers poised at the keyboard and I’m all set! I usually use a new Text Document to gather any random ideas or links I think I may need later on.

Oh and water, yes, good old H2O! Otherwise, I’ll sit for hours straight, keep feeling thirsty but never make an attempt to get up and quench my thirst. I’ll keep telling myself…just after this line…as soon as I write this….and before I know it, I’m dehydrated!

I’ve never really tried writing in a cafe or elsewhere…but the thought of sitting by a lake in the country somewhere, or in the silence of the mountains…typing away… sounds really lovely!

So anything in particular you’d like me write about… my country (culture, movies, music), or maybe some questions or comments regarding my previous posts, feel free to reply below! I’ve also added a Contact Form in the menu, so you can use too, whatever’s more convenient! Thanks a lot! 🙂

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Writing 101 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Writing 101, Day 6 – The Space to Write

  1. ranu802 says:

    I enjoyed reading your post. 🙂

  2. Samc95xc says:

    Love it mate!
    You added a mix of fun fact humor “Oh and water, yes, good old H2O! Otherwise, I’ll sit for hours straight, keep feeling thirsty but never make an attempt to get up and quench my thirst. I’ll keep telling myself…just after this line…as soon as I write this….and before I know it, I’m dehydrated!”
    I liked it more!

Leave a Reply

