Writing 101, Day 1, I write because…..

A while back I had written a blog on the same. I had started with the quote:

“Words are of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind.”- Rudyard Kipling

I write because I’ve found what I love, I enjoy it! You know how in university you’re confronted by a pile of calculus or chemistry books? You groan and moan, the thought of staying up nights to get those assignments done…in the workplace, the stack of paperwork makes you overly irritable and you just want it over with.

Well, when it comes to writing I didn’t moan and groan (at least, not unhappily) it was like an adrenaline rush! There was this anticipation in me, I actually looked forward to taking part in a particular writing challenge. Even if I had to stay up late, even if it took hours, I didn’t hate it, I didn’t dislike it as I did other subjects.

I write because I’ve found a way to vent in this interconnected world of ours. My voice, my words out there, for others across the globe to read. We’re all linked and actions on one side of the world inevitably affect the other, affect me and now I have a way of letting the other side understand.

When I pick up a book, I marvel at how an author can use words to describe features, scenes, feelings and the reader immediately forms pictures in her mind…I want to do that! I may not be a genius at it, but there’s this yearning in me that craves to write this way.

I write because I’ve found my ecstasy, something I can be good at and that’s a really, really great feeling. Even when I get stuck, I don’t want to give up, I want to keep at it. It’s something I’ve discovered as mine.

“Hide not your talents, they for use were made. What’s a sun-dial in the shade?”                                                                                                                                           – Benjamin Franklin

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Writing 101 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Writing 101, Day 1, I write because…..

  1. innatejames says:

    I agree. It took 40 odd years but I finally found a passion for writing, like you! That enthusiasm spread to other parts of my life, too. Did it for you?

    • swritings says:

      That’s so great! Well I can’t say that I felt that same adrenaline rush spread to other parts of my life, but just that great feeling, when you look at a particular piece of writing that turned out well, that makes your day turn cheerful! 🙂

      • innatejames says:

        I guess I mean when I started doing the thing I was supposed to, I started looking at other parts of my life and appreciating them. Like now I really appreciate the writing aspect of my day job. And I write letters to loved ones now and I feel closer to them.

      • swritings says:

        Now I get it! 🙂 How wonderful that you were able to transition it so smoothly in your life this way!

  2. Joan says:

    Great response to the prompt! I’m following you to read more! 🙂

  3. I too waited until time and circumstance brought me to where I found a passion for writing. I read a John Betancourt novel and thought to myself, “I could have done a better job than this.” And then it started. 🙂

  4. Parul Thakur says:

    I agree! Since the time I started my blog. I have been thinking – what made me wait so much?
    Great post and inspiring!

    Stopping by from Yeah Write’s NoMo participants list!

Leave a Reply

