You Buy it, You Eat it!

junkvsveg

We hear people complain endlessly about the dangers of eating junk food. Not only from fast food restaurants but also the goodies you buy to munch at home. Everything from crisps, sodas and chocolates to biscuits and ice-creams.  

We wait anxiously for the weekend so we can firstly stock up on snacks, then sit in front of the TV and watch a good movie, munching merrily away! It can’t be Saturday night without a spread of Doritos and an aerated drink. Cribbing starts the following day. Feeling extremely guilty after having vowed countless times of how we’d avoid just this, its straight to the gym to loose what we so happily put on the night before.

Looking to feel remorse free? Well then, the next time you step into a supermarket, just don’t buy any junk food! How naive do I sound right now? But seriously, whenever you reach the junk food aisle, keep walking!

And it’s not only movie night that you stock up for, its nearly everyday that you poke your head into the fridge or take a look in the pantry to see what’s lying around. Grab the first mouthwatering snack you see and start gobbling. Now, if only these snacks weren’t strewn all over your house, how then would you indulge?

Tempting, uh?

Just the other day I opened the fridge a countless number of times, yet nothing magically materialized to eat. So I ended up peeling a banana. The next day I was quite proud of  myself. No junk food had entered my system the day before.

Gimme! Gimme!

So the question arises, what to eat when you’re in the mood to eat junk? Well, as difficult as it may be, you start with not stocking up with such snacks. Then you make it a point to stuff yourself with something healthy when the initial pangs of hunger strike. Personally speaking, whenever I crave for a packet of chips, I drink a glass of water and after a few minutes realize my craving isn’t as strong.

Additionally, salad! Its yum and so easy to make. Believe me, once you get into the habit of eating healthy, you won’t look twice at those tempting nachos. And the minute you feel full, you’ll automatically lose the urge to pop a handful of smarties into your mouth. Likewise, keep in mind moderation. If you feel like eating ice-cream, don’t sit with the whole tub of that rich, mint chocolate chip!

But best of all, sit in front of the TV with a bowl of salad *cue hysterical laughter* Yes, I know that just doesn’t sound right, but you’ll never lament the next day, that’s for sure. I don’t want to sound like a total party pooper, there’s no harm in indulging now and then, but don’t make it easier for yourself by regularly buying what you’ll bemoan consuming. I too have my cravings and balance is key. But do try to get rid of the source and your temptation will die down. For if you buy it, you will most certainly eat it!


And so it begins….Day 1: NaBloPoMo/NanoPoblano ….1 down, 29 more to go! 

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Health, NaBloPoMo/NanoPoblano & YeahNoMo, Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Buy it, You Eat it!

  1. Shivangi says:

    Very interesting write up😀

  2. How true! It’s a bit different for me though. I have no hunger sensation. I eat when an alarm goes off on my phone. Unfortunately, it also means I eat for taste, not to get full. I’ve had to change my diet to keep my weight at a reasonable level. Not a fan of salad, but love fruit and some veggies. 🙂

    • swritings says:

      Well there’s nothing better than fruit! Especially for breakfast and on an empty stomach! Love veggies too! Just yesterday I had steamed Guwar (cluster beans) 🙂

Leave a Reply

