The Recluse

Mondays Finish the Story flash fiction challenge!

© 2015, Barbara W. Beacham

I watched the vulture looking at me hungrily as I lay on the ground bleeding and injured. Venomous without provocation, this mighty creature had attacked, swiftly and savagely.

A misanthropic recluse, I now lay in the sticky pool of my own blood, alone and petrified.  A decision of my own volition, after having experienced the worst of mankind, the animals and birds were my friends. Even the insects, the ones that would crawl up your leg and buzz in your ear. They were the honest creations of the world.

Why did this have to happen? Bitter thoughts cascaded through my brain, momentarily blanking out the excruciating pain. I had my life all figured out, till now.

I stared sadly into its calm, yet piercing dark eyes.

“Goodbye my friend,” I whispered softly, as it stretched its magnificent, black wings and swooped down, enveloping me in its shadow.

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction Challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Recluse

  1. That gave me the shivers! A brilliant use of the opening sentence.

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings!

  2. Sally says:

    A strong and powerful piece of writing, great stuff.

  3. Great piece of writing. Pulls one in from the start.

  4. gravadee says:

    A little scary, lovely insight

  5. Pingback: My Flash Fiction Challenges for 2015 | Dollops of Heedful Ramblings

Leave a Reply

