My Ecstasy!

passion

“Words are of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind.”- Rudyard Kipling. Indeed. I realized this only when I started writing myself. Writing, something which I had never ever thought about doing. I never realized that writing was my Moby Dick, but it was and I inevitably ended up harpooning this whale. You never know what life has in store for you. Reading a slogan on a wall “God laughs when we make plans” I realized how I’d have laughed if anyone had told me that one day I would consider myself to be an aspiring writer. Yeah, right! and that knock at my door is Brad Pitt with a ring in his pocket! But it all started innocuously enough, the writer in me just took over and before I knew it, my fingers clicked magically away at the keyboard, words flowing smoothly as I typed. This was it, this was my adrenaline rush, my high. Nothing could beat the pleasure I felt at seeing my completed article on the screen in front of me. How easy it was for me to vent, to let my feelings and ideas be known to hundreds of others. To get all the thoughts in my head, out. For some people its yoga, for me it’s writing. And anyone can do it. You don’t need a degree to just write what you feel. The more you do it, the more free you feel. The pen is indeed mightier than the sword. I dive into the sea of thought, finding there pearls and other treasures, which cannot have a price tag attached to them. You have to admit, when watching the news, you are goaded part endurance and just want to scream and yell. Well, writing is one way I can exorcise that demon within. I sit ensconced at my desk, take a deep breath, and start typing, ferociously at times, a mere prequel to what’s coming. I can never predict what I’ll write, but that I will.

I have always envied how writers could easily convey and describe an atmosphere in a story. How intricately they described each person in a scene, their facial expressions, their thoughts, making you know exactly how the character was feeling and what he was thinking. It is even more clear in writing, than it is watching that scene in a movie. I remember reading a book, then watching the movie of the same. The book beat it by a mile! Words have their own charm, which no actor in a movie can ever compare to, no matter how Oscar winning their performance. Even when it comes to action scenes, seeing all the blood and gore on TV is one thing, but reading in detail word for word which so clearly describe how the death blow is delivered, sends shivers down your spine. I don’t mean to sound so bloodthirsty here, but indeed, a must for all action movie fanatics.

Reading and writing go hand in hand. I get the same surreal feeling when I’m engrossed in a book, as I do when I write. Oh how I wish all children read because they want to and not because they’re forced to!  hat each and every single Pakistani child reads and finds immense pleasure in doing so. I quote:

“I would be the most content if my children grew up to be the kind of people who think decorating consists mostly of building enough bookshelves.”- Anna Quindlen.

I can never forget my Enid Blyton books, and still have the entire collection of The Famous Five series, with me, among others, as I don’t have the heart to part with them.

At times I flounder in a morass of unfinished sentences, but slowly I manage to straighten them out, as thoughts start coming to me with razor-edged clarity. I’m no J.K Rowling, that’s for sure, but it’s something I enjoy doing, something which I look forward to, something which I can do for me and me alone. And that’s the beauty of it. Knowing that you are in control. And what a feeling it is. As I finish writing, I surface slowly, for a few minutes, aware only of existing, coming out of my reverie. For a few minutes there, I was in another world, far and free from the cacophony of this one. My writing gives me a penchant for remaining above the fray and for maintaining my individuality.

Everyone of us has a talent, so use it. Something you just feel like doing, even for the heck of it. So do it. That’s what I did and now can proudly say that I am passionate about something. You don’t have to win accolades in it, you can do it simply for yourself. For your own happiness. Me time. Something besides your pedicures and manicures, which you end up spending exorbitant amounts of money for anyway. Besides, I always had a thing with strange people touching my feet! So maybe you can vent by hitting a squash ball against a wall, or by running for miles, whatever it is, find that thing you like doing, you don’t have to be an Einstein at it, you just have to like it. Just the thought of waiting in anticipation for when next you’ll do that thing is a wonderful feeling, a feeling everyone should experience.

“Hide not your talents, they for use were made. What’s a sun-dial in the shade? – Benjamin Franklin

About swritings

Author: Ugly Aphrodite (Available on Amazon Kindle) Ah, the need to get your thoughts out there! Happy reading folks!
This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Ecstasy!

  1. I actually start imagining those death blows, and blood and gore scenes, while watching the news normally about some Tory like David Cameron… But that is probably just me!

Leave a Reply

